It’s time: Emily Haines is back with Choir of the Mind, the Metric singer’s first release as her Soft Skeleton solo project in a decade.

That interval has particular resonance for Haines: Choir of the Mind, due Sept. 15 on Last Gang Records, comes 10 years after her Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton EP What Is Free to a Good Home?, which in turn stemmed from her 2006 LP Knives Don’t Have Your Back. Ten years before that, she released Cut in Half and Also Double under her own name.

Haines’ vocals are definitely the focal point of Choir of the Mind. She used her voice to create spellbinding orchestrations for an effect that is subtle and ghostly on “Wounded,” lush on “Fatal Gift” and deeply powerful on “Legend of the Wild Horse,” which she calls her “soft anthem.” Haines’ voice is the only audible instrument on “Strangle All Romance,” and she creates mesmerizing layers that drift and swirl through the title track, which includes a spoken-word part adapted from a poem by the Indian mystic Sri Aurobindo.


Management
Matt Drouin
Crystal Math
matt@crystalmath.net

Booking
Worldwide
Darryl Eaton
Creative Artists Agency
deaton@caa.com

Press
Canada
Julie Booth
Freshly Pressed PR
julie@freshlypressedpr.com

United States
Carla Sacks / Samantha Tillman
Sacks & Co
carla@sacksco.com
samantha.tillman@sacksco.com

UK
Chloe Melick
Inside/Out
chloe@insideslashout.com

Available in the Last Gang Shop:

Choir of the Mind

Album by Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton

BUY

Knives Don't Have Your Back

Album by Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton

BUY

What Is Free To A Good Home?

Album by Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton

BUY

Videos

Photos