Electric Youth announce new album + release “The Life”

Posted in


By Admin

On May 31, 2019

Toronto duo, Electric Youth – vocalist, Bronwyn Griffin, and multi-instrumentalist, Austin Garrick – today announced their first new album in four years, Memory Emotion, which will be released August 9th. Stereogum premiered lush and cinematic lead single, The Life, mixed by Peter Mayes (Empire of the Sun), ahead of the track’s release at DSPs this Friday, May 31st. Listen here, and watch the official video here. Electric Youth have also announced a NYC album release show at Brooklyn’s Music Hall of Williamsburg on August 17th. More dates will be announced soon.

Since breaking through on the soundtrack to the 2011 film Drive, where their A Real Hero scored pivotal scenes, Electric Youth haven’t slowed down. After releasing their 2014 debut, Innerworld, the Canadian duo spent the subsequent years working on new songs, scoring a forthcoming movie, and working again with Drive director, Nicolas Winding Refn (their song Good Blood appeared on the companion soundtrack for his 2016 film, The Neon Demon, while their 2017 release, Breathing, an Original Motion Picture Soundtrack From A Lost Film, was released under his ‘Nicolas Winding Refn Presents’ album series). The duo also collaborated with Gesaffelstein on his Columbia Records debut album, Hyperion, and with Oscar-winner, Ryuichi Sakamoto, on his album, Async Remodels.

Electric Youth’s self-produced Memory Emotion is the yang to the ying of their acclaimed debut: whereas Innerworld had an inward focus and the immersive atmospherics of a headphones album, the new LP looks outward, exploring a wider spectrum of sounds, moods and tempos, resulting in their most dynamic body of work yet. “Memory Emotion is much more outer-world, an album focused on the external world we live in and the way in which we interact with the world as a result of the emotions attached to our memories. Innerworld was finding that sense of self, developing and establishing a viewpoint, and Memory Emotion is us taking that viewpoint with us out into the world. The Life encapsulates the spectrum of that experience, from the dark to the light, the birth and rebirth, the destruction, degeneration and regeneration of living things on our planet, the home to all greedy megalomaniacs and generous martyrs alike,” explains Garrick. “There really is a strong link between music and memory and emotion, and Memory Emotion is what we came up with for that link.”

Click to save/stream “The Life”

Central to that link is DHM, short for “deeper hidden meaning,” which Electric Youth espoused after reading about it in Nile Rodgers’ memoir, Le Freak. “We have this thing where we’re listening to a song that we’ve created, and there’s a certain chord that hits, or a certain melody, or some lyrics, and it just gives you this reaction, almost like a physical reaction,” Griffin explains. “I’ll take my hand and tap my heart, and that to us is the feeling we consider DHM, and that’s what we’re always trying to connect with on every song.”

Those feelings fuel Memory Emotion, from the nervous energy of The Life to the melancholic sweetness of ARAWA (short for As Restless As We Are). Electric Youth’s scoring work has expanded the textures and feelings of their music, as working on films has introduced them to sounds they wouldn’t have otherwise known or used. It’s also helped broaden their whole approach to songwriting. “One of our goals for this record was to create something that was quite a bit more environmentally versatile than Innerworld,” says Garrick. “In the sense that Innerworld is at its best if you are driving down the Pacfic Coast Highway or alone with headphones. We wanted to create something with Memory Emotion where songs stand on their own in more situations.”

Memory Emotion Tracklist:

1.The Life



4.Real Ones

5.On My Own



8.Evergreen 143

9.Now Now

10.Through the same eyes

11.Memory Emotion (Outro)