Low Hum’s debut album Room To Breathe out now!

Posted in


By Sarah Sigro

On Jun 17, 2019

Low Hum is thrilled to share Room To Breathe, out now via Last Gang (Chromeo, Rhye, Stars). The debut full-length album from Hawaiian born producer and multi-instrumentalist Collin Desha has already garnered airplay on BBC Radio 1, and recognition from NPR Music, The 405, and Relix among others. With Room To Breathe, which Desha wrote, produced and tracked most of the instruments for, Low Hum further explores a heady mix of late night soundscapes and danceable grooves.

Order or Stream Room To Breathe (https://ffm.to/roomtobreathe)

Desha’s most indelible memories were formed growing up in Hawaii in his native culture’s lifestyle —   surrounded by the ocean and traditional Hawaiian music.  At 17, Desha arrived in Los Angeles, green and hungry to expand his musical identity. Inspired by his LA peers who controlled their creative process, from writing to recording to production, Desha adopted the moniker Low Hum and set up his home studio, determined to write with “no boundaries.”

Shortly after meeting Parisian drummer/producer Jules De Gasperis, the two west coast transplants’ began working together, which resulted in a five-track EP lowhum, showcasing Low Hum’s honeyed, haunting vocals and subtle psychedelic arrangements reminiscent of Tame Impala. These understated yet profound pop sensibilities suffuse Low Hum’s forthcoming full-length, Room to Breathe. From the chugging sprawl of lead single “Strange Love,” inspired by the film Dr. Strangelove, to “Crimson Cardinal,” a powerful meditation on depression and loss following the death of a very close friend, the LP will be a fittingly widescreen introduction to Desha’s music.

Room To Breathe Tracklist:

  1. Fake Reality
  2. Strange Love
  3. I Don’t Know Me Like You Do
  4. Room To Breathe
  5. Nebraska
  6. Crimson Cardinal
  7. Sun Chaser
  8. Sink Your Teeth
  9. Comatose