RYAN Playground releases debut album

Posted in


By Admin

On Sep 28, 2018

Montreal producer, singer & songwriter Genevieve Ryan Martel, who performs under the moniker RYAN Playground has released her highly anticipated debut album titled 16/17 today on Secret Songs/Last Gang Records. The album includes stunning singles “Pie In The Sky” (feat. Robert Robert)” and “Empty Pool,” featuring acclaimed New Zealand artist Lontalius. Releasing music under Ryan Hemsworth’s Secret Songs label, RYAN Playground has previously been met with positive accolades from Vogue, i-D, FADER and Stereogum, as the new record has continued her upward trajectory.


Ryan was raised by two classical musicians in Montreal. At age 5 she received her first drum kit and by 11 she was creating her own compositions with her guitar and drums. Her musical alter ego RYAN Playground was born out of playtime – the meeting of a seasoned musician in touch with the wide-eyed exuberance and roller coaster emotions that come with being a teenager. On 16/17, RYAN harkens back the days when she was growing up in the suburbs listening to pop punk.

Despite inheriting her family’s interest in writing music, her life had a fateful change in paths when she was scouted to be a model. Impressively, she has since worked with Vera Wang, Miyake, Elle, Rudsak, Joe Fresh, Aldo, and more. Upon declaring her desire to find a middle ground in her life, RYAN pivoted her focus to working on music, which allows her express all the competing emotional elements in her life.

RYAN recently released a music video in celebration of the mundane for her song titled “Tokyo” and performed at the Santa Teresa Festival in Quebec, Canada.

Track Listing

  1. Empty Pool (feat. Lontalius)
  2. Prolongation
  3. Pie In The Sky (feat. Robert Robert)
  4. Worryland
  5. The Time To
  6. Too Smart
  7. Start It All
  8. Almost Died
  9. Tokyo (feat. Lontalius)
  10. Hope
  11. It’s Ok
  12. Somewhere In Between