Stars announce new album, release “Real Thing” + tour dates

Posted in


By Admin

On Aug 25, 2017

Stars’ latest single “Real Thing”, which premiered yesterday via Pitchfork, is out today worldwide alongside the cover artwork and tracklist of their forthcoming new album, There Is No Love In Fluorescent Light, set for release October 13th, 2017 via Last Gang Records. Stars also announced a handful of select live dates for November — with multiple nights in Brooklyn, New York, and Toronto — that are on sale today. Stars partnered with Plus 1 and Native Women’s Shelter of Montreal/Foyer Pour Femmes so that $1 from every ticket goes towards providing indigenous women and their children a safe and supportive environment through the Native Women’s Shelter of Montreal. For more information and ticket details visit Stars’ website.

The album, recorded in Montreal and Connecticut with producer Peter Katis (The National, Japandroids, Jonsi), marks the first time the band relinquished creative control to another, outside the band. “This record seemed to have an undeniable momentum from the start,” says Katis. He adds, “Even my being turned away by Canadian border police for the second round of tracking couldn’t slow us down. Stars is a complex organism with a long history. They are a combination of personalities simultaneously in conflict and harmony, ultimately coming together to make a really cool record. It feels fresh and new to me. I’m really proud of what we did. Bon travail a tous!”

Lyrically, this new record veers into a world inhabited by characters that have lived inside Stars songs for almost twenty years; a place where people do desperate things in the name of love; a place where the cruelty and coldness of the technological world we live in, often smashes up against the frailties of the human heart. “Pop song pepper spray,” says Amy Millan of “Real Thing,” adding “In a world where we are targeted daily and consistently let down in the courts of consent. The laymen continue to write laws on our organs. “Real Thing” is a ‘she said’ for singing as loud as you can.”

“Real Thing” follows the recent single “Fluorescent Light,” which NPR Music said “soars to heart-swelling heights,” and the first two tracks, “Privilege” and “We Called It Love”. The band also teased a new ‘Dinner With Stars’ documentary made by Anthony Seck.

The album cover art by U.S. artist Rob Carmichael is a contrasting display of the modern world superimposing itself on top of the ancient.

Pre-order the LP here.


There Is No Love In Fluorescent Light tracklist:

  1. Privilege
  2. Fluorescent Light
  3. Losing To You
  4. Hope Avenue
  5. Alone
  6. We Called It Love
  7. Real Thing
  8. The Gift Of Love
  9. On The Hills
  10. The Maze
  11. California, I Love That Name
  12. Wanderers


Stars tour dates:
09/22 – Ontario, Canada @ Beau’s Oktoberfest at Vankleek Hill Fairgrounds
11/16 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
11/17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
11/18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
11/22 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall
11/23 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall
11/28 –  Los Angeles, CA @ Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever Cemetery
11/29 –  Los Angeles, CA @ Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever Cemetery
11/30 – Los Angeles, CA @ Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever Cemetery