Stars unveil Sad Robots LP for RSD 2019

Posted in


By Admin

On Feb 28, 2019

Stars have made their career telling the tales we keep in the darkest, and most hopeful parts of our souls.  20 years as a band and friends has provided a storied album catalogue spanning nearly 15 releases and Stars continues to deliver the hard and soft edges of life and love as only this band can. Stars released their latest, critically revered album, There Is No Love In Fluorescent Light (Last Gang) in 2017.

Originally released in 2008, the band’s Sad Robots EP will be pressed for the FIRST TIME on 180gram, glow-in-the-dark green vinyl for Record Store Day 2019. Sad Robots followed the band’s highly coveted album In Our Bedroom After The War (2007). Pitchfork praised Sad Robots as: “An insanely autumnal EP, this digital-only release – an introductory track, four new songs, and a live version of ‘Going, Going, Gone’ – captures teenage ache in its slow pulse and burst-of-grandeur choruses.”

“We made Sad Robots on our own, without a label, at a time when we were trying to get back to the core of who Stars were. So it’s very fitting that it gets its first vinyl release on a day that celebrates independent record stores, where you can still find someone cool behind the counter who can show you a weird record you have never heard of, but which you really should own. We love Record Store Day and we are really happy to be a part of it.” – xo Stars


  1. Maintenance Hall, 4 A.M.
  2. A Thread Cut with a Carving Knife
  3. Undertow
  4. Going, Going, Gone
  5. 14 Forever
  6. Sad Robots